REVIEWS

AMAZON REVIEWS:

 

★★★★★ A Magical Journey– can’t wait to see what happens next…

By Socal Wine Girl on June 22, 2012

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

The book is likely written for young adults — but in a Harry Potter sort of way, it is meant for anyone with a sense of adventure and desire to go on a mystical journey. The characters are developed well and make you want to get to know them better, as I found myself rooting for the main character Ani while she discovered her secret powers and learned of distant people and lands. The writing style is easy to follow and gives the reader a sense of being right there as Ani learns she is not just an ordinary human. We all have fears as does Ani– but when you watch someone face their insecurities and fight for what is right, you can’t help but to cheer them on. With a wild cast of characters, many lessons to be learned, and twists and turns galore — this book will keep you reading and not wanting it to end.

★★★★★ Killer Story, Epic Themes!

By Slater on May 15, 2014

Format: Paperback

This book takes the reader on quite an incredible journey through various fantastic locations! It’s exciting and fast paced with a new mystery or new discovery in almost every chapter. Lightbridge Legacy Destiny’s Call is a ton of fun to read and leaves you itching for the next one! While the adventure element of the book is fantastic the themes and morals presented in the story are even MORE phenomenal! I recommend it to anyone at any age with the proper reading comprehension; this book is riddled with pure, healthy ideology promoting love and virtue and overall it kicks major ass!

★★★★★ Love for Lightbridge!!

By Oddioguy on December 3, 2011

Format: Paperback

What makes The Lightbridge Legacy – Destiny’s Call so engaging is the well developed characters and the warm yet complex relationships between them. Combine that with Ani’s harrowing adventures in real life as well as in more magical/spiritual realms, and you have a story that, once begun, is nearly impossible to put down! My only regret with this book is that I can’t get my hands on the sequel (yet)!

★★★★ LightBridge

By Nissa on September 4, 2012

Format: Paperback

This first book in the Lightbridge series focuses on the story of 13-year-old Ani Jasper, and her quest to find out who she is and discover her amazing abilities that allow her to travel through dreams and discover the unknown. After leaving her home and way of life in the Mojave Desert to move to New York City so that her mother could earn her Masters degree in Anthropology, she is faced with the difficult task of going to a public school, making friends, and coping with her parents failing relationship. After discovering that she has been chosen to fight off a demon who can track her magical abilities and invade her mind, her power to communicate with animals and see what hasn’t happened yet affords her the breaks she needs to survive in her new urban jungle existence.

The Lightbridge Legacy: Destiny’s Call, is a thrilling page turner about a young girl trying to find her place in the world. The setting change from rural to urban signifies her transformation from being sheltered to becoming a young woman. The challenges she has faced and the cliffhanger journey she is about to embark upon have molded this naive girl into a smart, keen, and alert young woman. This book is perfect for anyone who enjoys fantasy and mystery, and is suited for all ages. I’m 17 years old, and even I found the book to be cool and slightly humorous, but always interesting. It’s fun, easy-to-follow dialogue and engaging plot make this book easily digestible for anyone who reads it. The Lightbridge series is a promising one, and the first book sets the stage for a fantastic journey filled with courage, selflessness, and daring adventure.

★★★★★  • A Page Turner

By Jorge Kafkazar on June 27, 2012

Format: Paperback

I love the front and back covers, which nicely set the mood. There’s a lot of mysterious happenings in the story, secret writing, hidden tunnels, and more. I took it along on a trip. I had to put it down from time to time, and was always eager to pick it up again. A really good read.

★★★★★ An engaging story with magic, adventures and teen challenges.

By Amazon Customer on May 23, 2013

Format: Paperback

Destiny’s Call (Book 1 of the LightBridge Legacy’s Series) is about Ani Jasper, a teenager from the Mojave Desert whose life takes an unexpected turn when she finds a mysterious stone in the desert and strange things start to take place in her life.

When Ani’s family moves to New York she has to face several changes and challenges. I really enjoyed this part of the book with a great story about growing up, starting a new life in a new city, making new friends, dealing with the public school and the impact of all decisions in family life.

I don’t want to give many spoilers about the story, but what I can say about the book is that the writing is really good (descriptive, detailed, engaging) and the characters are interesting (besides the protagonist, I especially liked CJ who is Ani’s friend and Kaheté, Ani’s godfather).

This is a great book full of magic, legends, adventures, real teen problems and supernatural elements that I truly recommend and I think it will be an enjoyable read for teens and also for adults who enjoy fantasy and adventures genre.

★★★★  Extremely Enjoyable

By Grateful Listener on May 16, 2013

Format: Paperback

I came across this book by accident and started reading it purely to check it out. I was not expecting to enjoy this story as much as I did and found myself staying up late, racing through the pages just to see where this journey takes me. While this book seems to be aimed at a young teenage or pre-teen audience, I found the book to be just as enjoyable as an adult and find myself relating to the escapades of all characters.

The tale of Ani Jasper is a coming of age story that follows her through the natural and supernatural world in the Mojave Desert until she is transplanted to New York City. We follow our protagonist is she is thrown into a world of bullies and street gangs and cheer with delight as she learns to harness her powers to achieve victories. There is a deeper tale of family dysfunction that makes the characters extremely real and compelling for a fantasy novel.

Destiny’s Call is the first book of a trilogy and the ending leaves you hanging and waiting for the next chapter to begin.

★★★★ The Light Bridge Legacy: Destiny’s Call (Book #1)

By Monica on February 19, 2013

Format: Paperback

I really enjoyed this book. It hooked me from the beginning. I loved Ms. James’ writing style and thought it read easily and well. I thought the characters were developed well, and I especially liked Ani and Kahete. I wanted to know more about Kahete and Sophia, and their magical abilities. I got caught up in the story and can’t wait to read book two. There is some language, a domestic violence scene, and some sketchy choices made by Ani and CJ (stealing, lying, disobedience, etc.). I would recommend it for ages 13 and up. You may read my full review on my book blog: […]

★★★★★ Captivating

By Daedalus on January 17, 2013

Format: Paperback

What a fun book to get caught up in. The characters came to life and the scenes sparkled. That’s what I look for in a book and what I look forward to in the second book.

★★★★★ Loved it!

By Miss Martha on September 10, 2012

Format: Paperback

What a great book to read for a teen with a sense of mystery and adventure. Not a cookie cutter book at all. Enjoyed reading this fast paced novel. Characters were interesting with strong characteristics. Very much looking forward to reading the next book and continuing the journey! It’s intriguing and leaves me wanting more!

★★★★★  • Exciting Read

By Amazon Customer on August 4 STARS • , 2012

Format: Paperback

If you liked the Harry Potter series you will like the Lightbridge series. The story of Ani keeps you on the edge of your seat. It is exciting adventure and I can’t wait for the next book.

★★★★★ Great New Trilogy from World Nouveau

By EJ Irons on January 14, 2012

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Elayne James’ The LightBridge Legacy; Destiny’s Call is one of those books that delivers that `feeling.” – An adventure that unfolds so inevitably that you cannot put the book down. A story that comes along so infrequently, in terms of its pure potential for having a positive influence on a generation, particularly because it’s aimed at young readers. That said, I must say that reading it as a mature adult did indeed bring me back to my own formative days.

Ani, our almost shy, reluctant heroine is is an extremely likable character – real, accessible; curious and intelligent. Young and inspiring, discovering her own personal power – or “powers,” as the case may be – and grappling with the consequences of exercising those powers.

The messages and the magic in Destiny’s Call are thoughtful, yet so simple. Reading this book just makes you feel good – like you can trust your instincts and make a difference in the world.

This first installment of an ambitious, 900-page trilogy (parts 2 and 3 forthcoming) is a bit of magic that is sure to put Elayne James’ “mapstone” on the map, as it were.

★★★★★ An excellent piece of writing

By Paul LappenVINE VOICE on May 4, 2012

Format: Paperback

This is the first of a trilogy (actually one long novel split into three books). This young adult tale is an excellent piece of writing. Ani, an adolescent girl who, troubled by strange dreams and visions, finds herself remembering things that haven’t yet happened, is a very believable 12-year-old. Along with all the normal adolescent traumas, she is faced with an unexpected move to New York City where she encounters enemies both natural (school bullies) and supernatural. Add in some Native American spirituality and you’ve got a story that has plenty of heart and soul. Young people will enjoy this novel; adults will enjoy it too.

GOODREADS REVIEWS:

Feb 13, 2012
Dorothy Hensel rated it 4 STARS
“Beautifully written, captivating story. Would definitely recommend.”

Mar 21, 2012
Sharlene rated it 5 STARS
(I won this book in a GoodReads giveaway)
“What do you get when you mix in some ancient magic, some preteen angst and destiny? The amazing first book of a trilogy that will have you turning pages late into the night! The characters are believable. The scenes are so rich with detail you can smell the desert and feel claustrophobic in New York. The plot has left me hoping the next book is already in stores! I will be following this author!”

Mar 30, 2012
Beth rated it 4 STARS
Recommended to Beth by: Goodbooks
(received this book from a GoodReads (giveaway)
“The story is of Ani Jaspers’ incredible journey as a teenager from the Mojave desert to New York. A mixture of American Indian Shaman, witchcraft, foreboding dreams and a need for parental love and acceptance mix together to guide Ani along her journey. Toss in a few interesting “friends” and you have a wonderfully entertaining book for young adults or adults young at heart. I am anxiously awaiting the 2nd in the series.”

Jul 16, 2012
Annieslp rated it 4 STARS
“This book was so good! but it was part one, i have to wait for the next installment. i heard it is coming out soon!”

Jul 04, 2012
Cat rated it 4 STARS
“Fast paced, interesting, magical, and fun, Destiny’s Call is a must read for those who enjoy a classic fantasy novel and who like getting “lost” in a good book!

ALL REVIEWS: http://www.amazon.com/LightBridge-Legacy-~-Destinys-Call/dp/0982886586#customerReviews 

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s